Why my drops not dark?

So in my back yard I have this coconut tree, which no one climbs, so no one gets any of this delicious fruit. Since week the gardener came and so I decided to let him pick a few for me. When he was finished he said there was a few dry ones and I thought why not try to make some drops!

So I set out to find my recipe and got started on cutting up the coconuts.
Recipe taken from www.jamaicans.com
Now, first of all, I was making them for my home and for me I hate the brown part of the coconut meat so I cut them off

Then proceeded to follow the recipe, view link above for this. Added everything to the pot and started watching it! In search of the right recipe, I did come across a site that told you, it should cook for 20-30 mins. In the midst of this my daughter kept asking is it done yet! is it!, is it!

So after an agonizing 30 minutes it was done! YEAH ME! But then I started looking at it and thinking this really doesn’t look like the ones I see in the store but then things commercially made sometimes doesn’t look like what you make at home. However, they were tasty and my daughter loved it but it really bother me that they weren’t as dark so I started wondering if those other persons put Browning in it. YES THAT’S WHAT I THOUGHT! Then my mom was saying maybe it’s because I cut off the brown part of the coconut who knows? All I know is they tasted great and the kids in my house are eating the up like crazy.

Oh yeah I need to show you the finished product right!
Well here it is!!

Yes I dropped them on banana leave! That’s the real Jamaican way!

And my Beautiful Taster! She could hardly wait to do this!


BY THE WAY PLEASE TELL ME WHY MY DROPS WEREN’T AS DARK?

UNTIL NEXT TIME….
LUV YOU LIKE EAST INDIAN MANGO

Leave a comment

Filed under BLOG POST

Leave a comment